The History of Super Rugby and Super Rugby Betting


The 22nd season of Super Rugby gets underway during the first quarter of 2017 with an 18 team format. Super Rugby is widely touted as the preeminent professional men’s rugby tournament in the southern hemisphere and Japan and enjoys a growing fan base in countries such as New Zealand, Argentina and South Africa.

Quickly establishing itself as one of the hottest and most popular major rugby events on the calendar, it should come as no surprise that Super Rugby betting is fast attracting the attention of both novice and seasoned punters. Before delving into the exciting and fast-paced world of Super Rugby betting, let’s have a look at where it all began.

Early History of Super Rugby

The Super Rugby tournament as we know it today can be dated back to the South Pacific Championship in 1986 and has strong Kiwi roots. That year, the rugby teams of New South Wales and Queensland matched off against sides from Auckland, Wellington and Canterbury as well as a composite side hailing from Fiji.

The next five years saw the tournament grow from strength to strength under the South Pacific Championship banner, also referred to as the Super Six at the time. The re-entrance of South Africa into the rugby world in 1993 saw the tournament expand and evolve into the Super 10, were it ran until 1995.

SANZAAR Enters the World of Rugby

A year later in 1996, SANZAAR was formed as a joint venture, serving as the international rugby federation for South Africa, New Zealand, Australia and Argentina. SANZAAR is the official governing body which operates Super Rugby as well as Rugby Championship competitions within the Rugby Union.

As a result of its formation in 1996, the Super 12 was created as a professional tournament that featured the strongest rugby teams across New Zealand, Australia and South Africa. These teams would later become established franchises in their own right.

The 2006 season saw the fruition of the Super 14, when two additional teams, namely the Cheetahs and the Western Force joined the stellar line-up of rugby elite.

Expand and Rebrand

2011 saw the tournament expand to include 15 teams from three countries with the addition of the Melbourne Rebels. The tournament was rebranded to what we now call Super Rugby and was split into three conferences, one based in each of the three nations which had five teams each. That same year saw the Reds victoriously claim the championship title of the inaugural Super Rugby tournament over the Crusaders.

Super Rugby As We Know It Today

Super Rugby continued to evolve into the preeminent rugby tournament we know and love today. 2016 saw the introduction of three new sides to an expanded four conference model that is aimed to boost the intense passion and competitive nature of previous seasons. The latest season boasts 18 teams with the inclusion of new teams such the Jagaures from Argentina, the Sunwolves from Japan and the Kings from South Africa, all of which makes for an excellent esports betting sites season ahead.

There are loads of Super Rugby betting opportunities to take advantage of this season with 135 regular season matches played across 17 rounds. Once the regular season concludes, punters and fans alike can look forward to a nail-biting seven-match final series that will determine which team will reign victorious and walk away with this year’s tournament title.